1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Medical Student.

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by kindle123, Aug 16, 2018.

1. kindle123

kindle123 Peer Supporter

I am in great dilemma right now, i I’m fairly new to my TMS journey but graduated from medical school in 2009. Iv moved to a foreign country where I need to take my lisence exam to practice as an MD again but today after many years I picked up my medical books and started with the cardiovascular system I felt like each symptom of an cardiac condition is going to apply to me. So do I give up medicine and never practice as an MD or do I keep going? In SteveOs book he says stay away from groups, people or books that talk about symptoms so what do I do?

2. Lizzy

Lizzy Well known member

Well...my first thought was how common it is for students of medical practice to develop harmless symptoms while learning about disease. I think you must ask yourself if you can reassure yourself that you are fine and that its normal, for a time, to be susceptible to symptoms. I think Steve's book is referring to the focus on the negativity of comparing and recounting our pain. I think studying for your exams is different.

On a brighter note I hope you are able to continue because the world will have another doctor who is willing to help when a patient is open to the mind-body paradigm.

Balsa11, readytoheal, Lainey and 2 others like this.
  3. MWsunin12

MWsunin12 Beloved Grand Eagle