1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Leg weakness/unsteadiness, possibly TMS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by hpowders, Aug 21, 2018.

1. hpowders

hpowders Newcomer

Hello. Newbie here! :)

I have had lower back/leg pain/foot pain off and on over the past 40 years, and Dr. Sarno's books have been miraculous in helping to "cure" me, by thinking "psychologically".

Lately, I have developed weakness and tremors, when standing, in both legs, resulting in some unsteadiness and it is very scary!

Anybody else share these symptoms? I believe this is just another manifestation of TMS, just more serious and am attempting to use Dr. Sarno's "think psychologically" method to help "cure" me once more.

I had a neurologist appt. yesterday and I wasn't confident in his evaluation. He wants to "test" me. I'm thinking of not going back there.

Help!!! tiphata

2. EmQ

EmQ New Member

Get tested....then when anything structural or physical is ruled out it will make the TMS Diagnosis much easier to accept....this is the rule anyway....new problems have to be evaluated first....most things are ruled out as nothing....we TMS people do a lot of testing which proves to be nothing.....let us know what you find out....EmQ

hpowders likes this.
  3. hpowders

hpowders Newcomer

Thanks for your input! I'm scheduled for an EMG this Friday. Okay. I will not cancel it.

4. jtperks

jtperks Peer Supporter

I had this. I actually still have the twitching. Doesn't bother me anymore. It used to scare the crap out of me. The only thing that really led to recovery was the neurologist doing an emg and telling me that I had "textbook" results. It was only then I could be confident that it was TMS. But you have to get it checked out- or you might drive yourself crazy wondering...."is it or isn't it????"

hpowders likes this.
  5. joshcm