1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Lay off or push through the pain?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Josue, Feb 12, 2013.

1. Josue

Josue New Member

I'm finally getting to the point, after many months, where I feel confident I can do just about anything physically. I finally took that step and just said F it. I started playing full court basketball and now I'm on a Bikram Yoga rampage. These were amazing steps for me, if one can imagine going from light exercise, to full on playing basketball. My body feels great and I am definitely getting stronger. Sarno suggests doing the most rigorous forms of exercise, and I'm game for anything right now! It feels amazing.

But I am unsure how to approach certain yoga poses and stretches. I try to ignore the teachers when they talk about this and that being good or bad for your back. Most of the yoga feels great, but there are those poses that I know will bring on pain. Should I lay off or push through this pain? The pain varies and some days I feel like I am more flexible than others. I don't know if I should stop stretching when I feel pain, or if I should push even harder, since like Sarno says, "your back is basically normal". It seems like these certain poses, and they are always the same ones, feel like the stretches I would do for physical therapy, which I have long since abandoned. Should I stick to "full body" exercise like basketball, surfing, water polo, swimming etc.? The yoga is totally full body, but at the same time I think there are some "back stretches" in there, which Sarno says to avoid.

Josue

2. yb44

yb44 Beloved Grand Eagle