1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Could my massage be making me more pain-sensitive?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by stayfit65, Oct 11, 2020.

1. stayfit65

stayfit65 Peer Supporter

Hi All,

I have been here for a while, mostly because of back and butt pain. My back is doing much better these days, but I’m still experiencing pain in my butt and back of my legs. It’s like a burning feeling. I am a fitness instructor and work out a lot. I started going to a massage therapist for some of the pains. Last Monday she did some intense cupping work and I have been suffering more ever since, with aching and burning. I work at a desk job also and this pain makes my days so difficult! For those of you who have experienced burning pain, do you think I’d be better served to get relaxation massages? Im having so much trouble sitting right now. Thank you, Stayfit

Balsa11 likes this.
  2. sheltered

sheltered Peer Supporter

Depends on your relationship with massage. Do you enjoy it? Do you believe in it? Probably more relevant if your issue is TMS. If you have accepted you have TMS, why the heck are you getting a massage anyway!?! You're not going to find any permanent healing on the table.

birdsetfree likes this.
  3. Miriam G. Bongiovanni

Miriam G. Bongiovanni Peer Supporter

Sheltered has made a good point.
    You should only be doing massage if you really enjoy it as a nice treat for you, and NOT to get rid of pain. Unfortunately, the techniques used in massage as well as the words that the masseur sometimes uses serve to reinforce the idea that there is something structurally wrong with the body.