1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Daniel L. conscious vs. unconscious rage

Discussion in 'Ask a TMS Therapist' started by Guest, Jul 2, 2015.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    Hi, I am still fairly new to this programme and am doing lots of reading and note taking. My question is how do I know what is in my unconscious mind that is causing rage? I can easily identify things in my conscious rage but how do I know if they are also impacting on my unconscious and therefore causing the pain?

2. Daniel G Lyman LCSW

Daniel G Lyman LCSW TMS Therapist

Answer
    Interesting. I wish I had an easy, simple answer for you, but unfortunately there just isn’t an easy way to know what’s going on in your unconscious.

More importantly, I think we should find out exactly why you’re digging deep for the rage: Is it solely to reduce pain or because you’re curious what’s down in there?

If it’s to reduce pain, then I wouldn’t worry about it. Unconscious rage as the cause of TMS pain, as popularized by Sarno, is not exactly how we think about TMS pain anymore. There’s an element to it, yes, but that’s not everything. I find that changing your relationship to the pain is much more vital to getting rid of pain than getting in touch with unconscious emotions.

Many people with TMS tend to repress their anger out of people-pleasing and perfectionism habits. Which is why many TMS people that read Sarno latch onto his words. From a therapeutic perspective, however, getting in touch with those feelings won’t make your pain go away if there is still part of you that is scared of your pain.