1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

100% healed. RSI, tendonitis, tendonosis

Discussion in 'Success Stories Subforum' started by amarie133, Nov 24, 2015.

1. amarie133

amarie133 Peer Supporter

Happy to report life is back to normal and I am 100% healed. The road to success was not an easy, but I want to encourage all my fellow TMSers to NOT GIVE UP.
    What I have learned from this journey has made me happier, wiser and more at peace with the challenges that come in life.

In February of last year, working as a massage therapist I developed pain in my right arm. I was looked at by 3 doctors, given an MRI, and diagnosed with repetitive strain injury, tendonosis and tendonitis of my right thumb and forearm extensors. I underwent months of physical therapy, did cortisone injections, had my right arm braced for months (this actually stopped the pain) but nothing worked. If I took off the arm brace, the pain would return. I remember learning to write with my left hand too.

Dr. Sarno's theories made sense, but I couldn't quite believe them. And when I would fnally commit to TMS being the answer, I would push too hard and "reinjure" myself. And the fear and anxiety about the "injury" were high too. I lost much of my income working as a massage therapist and was devastated.

I went to see a psychologist at a pain management clinic, thinking he would understand TMS. I told him I thought I had a psychosomatic condition. He didn't seem to understand. He kept refocusing on the physical.