1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Working Through Another Episode

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by steveomal, Oct 7, 2017.

1. steveomal

steveomal Newcomer

This is my first time posting to this community. I have had episodes of TMS in the past where I had back pain and sciatic burning pain in my left leg. The recovery the last time took months. I was healed from this after carefully applying Dr. Sarno's principles of repudiating the physical, acknowledging and accepting the psychological reasons for the TMS manifestation. My personality is described in Dr Sarno's books (wanting to always help out, easily irritable, always have a picture in my head how I want situations to go, particular about some things, ...)
    Three weeks ago while trying to prepare physically for an upcoming race I experienced a jolt in my right lower lumbar muscles performing the last repetition of the final set of an exercise. Earlier in the day someone was talking about their misaligned disks. I believe this the unconscious thought that allowed the trigger later that day. I was able to get through the rest of the exercise and the area was "warm" but not hurt. The next day was sore, but manageable. I kept telling myself this was the result of stress (going through anytime I have had any inklings of tms tension since the last episode). I continued to do workout following my schedule until the pain moved to the other side about a week later and eventually into my left hamstring (sciatic pain). Since then I have gone easier with the workouts and had to stop running because running has been excruciating.