1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Why Isn't TMS Healing a Linear Process? UGH

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by COgirl05, Jun 21, 2015.

1. COgirl05

COgirl05 Peer Supporter

I've been battling TMS for about 18 months and have had good times and bad. Lately over the past 4 weeks, I've felt like I was really beating it. I had been working with a psychotherapist about some behavioral changes to help and they were working. My brain was changing - I was learning to not care about the pain, outcome independence, not having as much fear or preoccupation. I even survived a visit with my in-laws with no pain. This past week, however, I've been feeling more anxious about it coming back and feeling a few twinges again. A financial stress occurred early last week and I'm wondering if that was why. Just a few minutes ago, I felt a stronger twinge and got a little more freaked out by it. I'm trying to ignore it and practice outcome independence, but just could use some words of encouragement that I will, indeed, beat this sometime!

2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi, COgirl. Financial stress is probably the cause of your return of pain. I worried about that same thing last night and told myself "this too shall pass." This morning the situation improved and my fears did not come about.

Here is a recent post on outcome independence and some advice about not caring about the pain that you and others might find helpful.

The post: