1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

When to return to work?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Latitudes9, Jul 9, 2020.

1. Latitudes9

Latitudes9 New Member

How did you handle returning to work/looking for a new job? I know this question has been asked before, and that everyone's situation is different, but if anyone has any advice, I'd be glad to hear it.

I'm 25 years old and have been dealing with new daily persistent headache (NDPH) for the past 12 months. I was originally working an office job when the pain started, and tried to "push through" the pain and use work as a distraction, but ultimately the pain was too much and I had to quit.

I've been working on pain rewiring/TMS methods for the past 6 months or so, with no success. I've tried meditation, reading about pain science, somatic tracking, meeting with a TMS therapist, various medications, etc. and absolutely nothing has worked. I know that nothing is wrong with my head, so I could start looking for a new job, but since I haven't made any headway with the pain, I'm worried that I would go back to work and then have to quit because of the pain. But at the same time, I know going back to work is an important part of recovery, and I do want to hopefully do it eventually, I'm just not sure when.