1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 5 When to push through pain

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Joy4, Nov 9, 2017.

1. Joy4

Joy4 Newcomer

Hi everyone, I’m new to this and the forum. I read and heard Healing Back Pain and accept the diagnosis. My issue is that I’m still in a lot of pain.. a good 8 out of 10 whenever I stand, walk or sit. Now Dr. Sarno says to push through this and resume physical activity, but since it hurts so much, it’s draining me a lot to even take a very small walk outside. I’m crying from pain when I come back in. Elsewhere I have seen people say that one should let the worst pain subside before following the “resume physical activity” advice. So now I’m a bit at a loss... I know I’m not hurting myself further by being active, but it’s so painful it is almost nauseating. It’s been weeks with the pain hardly subsiding at all and I lie down a lot. I was diagnosed with 2 disc herniations in August and made some progress, but then had a dramatic setback about a month ago (on a day when my baby was inconsolable, go figure). Any advice on when to push through pain will be much appreciated. My leg spasms and my butt feels like it has knives in it..

2. Joy4

Joy4 Newcomer

I made salad with close to manageable pain! It hurt a lot, but not “I feel like puking” pain. It’s all about the small successes, right? :)

georgethee and JanAtheCPA like this.
  3. Duggit

Duggit Well known member

This might be backwards. Some people say to push through pain. Compare John A. Sarno, The Divided Mind pp. 141 & 145 (emphasis added):