1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

When is it time to move on?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by mc1986, Jan 11, 2017.

1. mc1986

mc1986 Peer Supporter

Hi everyone. Hoping for some feedback...

I have been working on TMS for about 10 months. During this time I have seen minimal improvement in my pelvic pain that I have had for 2.5 years.

I have returned to work full duty as a firefighter and am basically barely getting through the day. I have severe pain 24/7. I am having a lot of doubts regarding the TMS diagnoses simply because of my lack of success. I am not sure what to do from here.

I have had a lot of recent stress around my job and the physical nature of it. I love my job but the pain takes most of the joy out of it for me. Unfortunately, it is all I know how to do to provide for my family...

So my main question is whether there comes a time that I need to move on from this approach. I am having a very difficult time believing 100% due to my lack of success but unfortunately I haven't had success trying anything else either. I am constantly evaluating my symptoms and don't know how to stop the cycle. I've filled up several journals, I had a good childhood but am extremely anxious and am becoming depressed.

I am beginning to feel like I am destined for a life of pain. I guess I'm just looking for a little support and direction.

Thanks

2. AC45

AC45 Well known member

Hello mc1986 - Thank you for risking your life to save others. I hear you and I am grateful for your sacrifice. Moving on from TMS is a personal decision. I do have a feeling you may not be here if you do not think it has benefitted you at all. Only you can decide what is best but I want you to know that you are heard and that I send you much warmth and empathy. -AC45

3. Andy Bayliss

Andy Bayliss TMS Coach & Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi mc1986,