1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Ulnar Nerve, EMG Results, and Surgery

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Ryan J, Jan 21, 2022.

1. Ryan J

Ryan J New Member

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the TMS forum, and to TMS theory. I've already finished a couple books so far and I'm trying to have deep acceptance of TMS but I'm snagged on a couple issues.

Over a year ago I started having an odd tingling/numbness sensation in my right pinky while playing the piano. Like many people on this site, I freaked out and went to a doctor which started the long process of "figuring out what's wrong." Long story short, a hand doctor sent me to get an EMG test which detected I had nerve abnormalities and subluxation on both of my elbows with the ulnar nerve. Remember, this problem started out on my right pinky but then also started showing up in my left pinky which was consistent with the EMG results. (I'd also like to point out these symptoms starting happening when I had the busiest schedule I've ever had which was a bit stressful.)

Over time my pinky problem did not get any better or any worse but it was still uncomfortable to play piano and lift weights so I decided to get ulnar transposition surgery on my right elbow. The surgery fixed the problem....for about three months. I thought the problem was solved but then I had a very stressful week about three months after surgery and my right pinky problem was back. It wasn't any better or worse, it was completely back to how it felt before the surgery. Very strange I thought.