1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Trying to avoid my pain pills

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by DieMond128, May 18, 2018.

1. DieMond128

DieMond128 New Member

I'm new to TMS, like it's only been 24hrs. I've been reading and researching. My glute and leg spasms have been out of control since my first Expressive Writing session last night and I'm struggling not to take my pain pill right now. I need advice on how to push through.

2. Time2be

Time2be Well known member

Dear DieMond128, sometimes pain killers are ok. I use them not often, but if I have to function at work and I have really bad pain, it helps. Pain killers are crutches. That you react like this to your first expressive writing session is a very good sign. It's actually a move forward! Keep going but don't make it too hard for yourself. And try to do things that are soothing!

3. DieMond128

DieMond128 New Member

I took a bath which is usually soothing but today it didn't. I've got a new symptom, nausea, and I know it's just my mind trying to hold onto my emotions. It's just so hard. I think I need to keep reading and find more coping mechanisms. Thanks for your words.

4. Time2be

Time2be Well known member

yes, that happens that a new symptom arises. Stay calm and relax. Tell yourself that you are on a good way and you don't need to resolve all problem right now! Do something else, something you love and enjoy. For me watching a movie and knit is always good. Or - this sound a bit crazy - I like to iron :) In summer doing something in the garden makes me calmer and I love to see how everything grows.

5. DieMond128

DieMond128 New Member

I'll try to think of something I can use as a distraction.

6. MedicineWithin

MedicineWithin Peer Supporter