1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

To push through tendon pain or not?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by music321, May 27, 2017.

1. music321

music321 Well known member

I hope you guys don't mind me posting so much, but I'm just trying to get through this damn thing. As a result of injuries, real or imagined, I was laid up for months and lost quite a bit of strength. I was weak to the point that propping myself up out of bed too much caused pain.

I started lifting weights with 3 lb dumb bells, and took things very slowly. Within about the last three weeks or so, I have progressed significantly in terms of gaining strength. I lifted with heavier weight (6 lb), and many reps (30) last night, and felt fine afterwards. My muscles burned during the exercise from lactic acid, but I felt no pain at all, anywhere. Although 30 reps might seem like quite a bit, I didn't think of it that way at the time. As a rule, I try not to dumb bells that I can't lift at least 15 times per set. I do this precisely to guard against tendon injury. I had intended to lift the 6 lb weights 20x, but realized that I could get to 30. Yes, it was a struggle, but again, there was no pain. I felt that I'd given myself a good workout at 30 reps.
    Actually, I probably could have lifted another set, but decided not to push things too much.