1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

TMS flare-up after months

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Kris, Jul 27, 2015.

1. Kris

Kris New Member

Hello! This is my first time back on the forum after a couple months. I thought I had successfully conquered TMS. I knew it would always try to worm its way back in, but I thought I had the tools to push it back down. I've had little flare-ups that have tried to make me doubt myself, but I've always come up feeling victorious in the end. However, this morning, I found myself googling "back pain coughing" and I knew TMS had taken ahold of me because I was questioning whether my pain was TMS.
    Last week, I was really stressed at work, but I was really looking forward to a dear friend's wedding over the weekend. Suddenly, on Tuesday, I began to feel a cold coming on. I had just spent a couple days around my niece and nephew, and I often pick up their colds, so I was really concerned about being sick for the wedding. So I pumped my body full of vitamins and supplements and I managed to ward off the worst of the cold- with the exception of a lost voice and a tickle in my throat. I also decided to take a few days off from my daily workouts so that my body could rest and all my resources could go towards healing from the cold. I had a wonderful time at the wedding, but when I woke up the next day, my voice was worse and the tickle in my throat had turned into a cough. I'm now on day three of this annoying incessant cough, and every time I cough, I have pain across my lower back. For the most part, I only feel the pain when I cough, though I had a couple periods in my day yesterday when I felt it at other times.