1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 TMJ and chronic fatigue

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Chronically fedup, Sep 17, 2021.

1. Chronically fedup

Chronically fedup New Member

First post… on anything… ever..! I’ve come across this site after finding Nichole Sachs online and then the curable app and Dr Gordon. I’m hoping this is the right route for me, if not a little doubtful. I’m a good student and I’m reading everything I can. Currently on Dr Gordon’s new book.

like most, I’ve been through the mill medically. My pain started as a dull ache on my left hand side jaw. I wasn’t sure if it was ear or mouth so left it a while and ended up seeing my gp who said is was an ear infection. Ear drops didn’t work so antibiotics were prescribed. They didn’t work either so ENT was called who said I had nothing wrong with my ears and maybe I should speak to a dentist about something called TMJ. I’d never heard of it!

dentist said it was TMJ which is caused by nighttime grinding and the treatment is a nighttime splint. I wore one for a month or so, no better, maybe a little worse. Referred to oral surgeon who said even tho my mri and X-rays were all fine, he felt it was my joint and I should have it washed out. Had the joint washout (a week before Christmas!) once the swelling had gone a few weeks later, pain was worse and now on both sides of my face!

he then suggested he take all 4 wisdom teeth out, which my dentist told me not to do as they were perfect. Did that, under local, god that was an awful experience! No better, worse pain!

oral surgeon gave up on me! Saw a few physios, specifically TMJ physio’s. No joy! Tried every pain killer known to man. No joy! Herbal remedies, you name them, I’ve tried them! Acupuncture, no joy! Splints, no! These weird ear things, cerezen? Nope! A head brace! That was interesting..