1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Time to make a change!

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Bchicken, Apr 2, 2016.

1. Bchicken

Bchicken Newcomer

Hi all! I have been looking at this forum for a while, and I thought I would finally make a commitment and join the site!

These past few years have been very tough for me. I was a classical pianist for many years in my undergraduate studies when it all began. I developed many injuries in my wrists and elbows, injuries that no matter how many NSAIDs or rest I took never really went away. I tried getting my mind off things and took dance classes, and developed what felt like tendonitis in my knees. I managed to hurt my shoulder that same year at the gym, another injury that never went away. I tried resting, but unfortunately I knew my dreams of being a professional pianist were not a possibility because of the pain. Instead I focused on academics, and I am now in medical school.

In the 6 months before starting medical school however, my life took a turn for the worse. I was reading a lot, and developed pain in my pelvis from sitting. I tried doing light exercises and developed hip tendonitis in both hips. I hurt my knee and couldn't walk for weeks. I then developed plantar fasciitis in both of my feet. Finally, over the past 6 months I have felt back pain with tingling in my feet and upper legs. None of these have gotten much better. I am 24 years old, this doesn't make sense. I'm too young for this!

I saw 2 rheumatologists, 2 orthopedists, a neurologist, a neurosurgeon, and nothing came back of significant meaning. They all said it must be a coincidence, all my tests are negative. I tried everything, and as a medical student, also did research on my own and could not find anything to explain it. Until I came across this forum...