1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Thoughts on nail biting

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by bold_as_love, Dec 20, 2013.

1. bold_as_love

bold_as_love New Member

Just dawned on me that I've been biting my nails since I can remember, or for about 40 years. Is that a repression mechanism? Always thought it was just boredom/nervousness. Thx!

2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

I think it's just a nervous habit. Just switch to doing something else, like massaging the valley point.

3. Forest

Forest Beloved Grand Eagle

I don't know, as I don't bite my nails. I tend to fiddle with the spiky splinter-like hangnails at the edge of my fingernails a little. I used to do it more, but decided to push them down instead of up and that seemed to help. I used to bite my nails, but at a certain point I noticed and was able to stop.