1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

The End of Week One

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by itstooloud, Sep 28, 2015.

1. itstooloud

itstooloud Newcomer

I'm quite new to this concept/diagnosis and have just finished my first week of the SEP.

Intellectually I had no trouble accepting Sarno's book and, like a lot of people, I saw myself on every page. I was eager to get started and submit to the program. So far there's been no change in my pain, which is in my lower back.

There are a couple issues I'm confronting right now. One is that I've been in therapy for many years and I have admitted to myself many painful emotions to the point where it feels like there's not much left to discover. There's quite a lot I'm angry about, and quite a bit I carry around with me every day in the form of anxiety. I have a psychology degree and I think that more than most people, I'm in the habit of questioning my own motivations and trying to see all sides of an argument. I realize this sounds ludicrous but thus far my daily journals are only written versions of stories I have already told myself a hundred times.