1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 37 The art of self care

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by ikiwismet, Sep 3, 2019.

1. ikiwismet

ikiwismet New Member

I know that the main self care challenge for me is about stepping off the crazy spinning wheel of productivity and caregiving. At least for a breath or two in the midst of it all.
    There is another challenge here. Art has been my way of playing since l was a child. I continued making art through my adult life even as I worked as a designer and art director. I quit that work and made a go at making my personal art a career. Well that never really got to a viable income. Instead I slipped into a roll of supporting my husband's work through cooking and gardening. Both things that I have always done for pleasure. The problem is that as my frustration grew with the marketing of art I completely shut down and now make no art at all. Meanwhile gardening and cooking have become driven by production (the spinning wheel).
    So how do I regain the pleasure, the play in it all?

2. Sita

Sita Well known member

Hi,

I guess I know what you mean. I was in the same situation for some time, could not create anymore, could not paint, knit, draw in pencil etc. just for my pure pleasure. And then I relaxed and did not care anymore about actually selling my art. Marketing for art is very difficult, I agree.