1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

SUCCESS after years of pain..

Discussion in 'Success Stories Subforum' started by dflynn17, Jun 4, 2023.

1. dflynn17

dflynn17 Newcomer

I just wanted to share my story in hopes that it may help someone else.

I am a musician and I had hand problems/"injuries" for years. Here are just a few (there were MANY more)

- Overuse injury to left hand approximately 9 years ago from playing guitar so I switched to an instrument called the dobro because the left hand is only required to hold a slide.
    - I fell in love with the dobro, but shortly there after my right wrist would start hurting a lot. I was told by the doctor i have a ganglion cyst in that wrist. I proceeded to wear a brace while I played and never really bent my wrist in order to avoid aggravating it. (did pushups on fists for example)
    - Later on I started getting muscle spasms in the thumb and fingers on my right hand and once again was told it was overuse by the doctors. This issue shut me down for a few weeks to a month on multiple occasions.
    - Then my right thumb started hurting a lot which shut me down for a month on a couple of occasions. (was told overuse.... again.)
    - These injuries kept me from the gym and working out as well which is another thing I love.
    - Also a sufferer of anxiety here and there.

All this time I was being told my injuries were overuse I was not playing more than a couple hours a day so it didn't really make sense to me that they would be overuse..