1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Shifting from the physical to the psycological

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by tnozaki, Sep 9, 2020.

1. tnozaki

tnozaki New Member

Hi I've been battling TMS for 6 months (medically diagnosed as a Somatic Disorder), and recently started my journey to utilize the advice I get from the books and the structured TMS recovery program. I also decided to work with a TMS therapist from the pain psychology center.

One of my main struggles is that the physical symptoms that are constant and unrelenting have a strong grip on my mind. I get worried, frustrated, sad and hopeless as this whole time I haven't been able to see signs of consistent improvement. The condition has indeed been "all consuming" for me despite my best efforts to change that.

In Sarno's book the Mindbody Therapy, there is a section about shifting my focus away from the physical symptoms, and towards the psychological.

Would anyone be willing to share how they've been able to put this into practice?
    When you're symptoms are bad - Did you reflect upon current and past stressors that may have caused certain emotions that you might be repressing?

It's been a lonely, difficult battle for me thus far. I hope that I can find some hope (I am in tears and my hands are shaking in grief and sadness as I write this), that firmly believe this is a curable condition and that I can finally get on the write track towards a full recovery.

Thanks in advance.

2. Sita

Sita Well known member

Hi,

There is improvement, for sure. Even though you don't see it yet. It's there! Just continue and have patience.

Just continue to take care of your mental state. Good care!