1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 2 Second Day in and I'm Scared!

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Delia, Jun 16, 2021.

1. Delia

Delia Newcomer

I've completed day 2 of the program and I enjoyed reading the educational article which seemed to alleviate the last doubts I had about TMS. As a blood transfusion scientist myself, I can understand why a reduction in blood flow to an area of the body can lead to pain and this has helped me to accept TMS as a 'real' condition.

Reflecting back over my life's events and cross-linking this to when my pain first started I was indeed going through a particularly stressful time. That being said, I've had other bad times in my life prior to my pain starting and those previous events didn't lead to pain. I guess then, the most obvious question is why did the previous stressful events not lead to pain? I remember the pain first starting when I had horrendous spasms in my left leg and foot in the middle of the night. That night, every time I thought the spasms had subsided they quickly returned and I was awake all night in agony. The following day(s) are when the chronic pain started in my ankle (I described my symptoms in more details in my 'Day 1' post). Ever since then (13 years ago) I've had pain in my leg/ankle/foot/knee/lower back.