1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Sciatica, confused by intermittent pain

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by kylefreestyle, Nov 30, 2013.

1. kylefreestyle

kylefreestyle New Member

Hi. This is my first time posting. I'm in the midst of a sciatica flair, and I'm looking for some thoughts and support. There are LOTS of stressful events in my life right now, and plenty of things that would make me want to repress feelings so I REALLY want to believe this is TMS, but I get thrown by one feature.

The pain happens primarily when I'm standing, and gets progressively worse until I sit down, and then I can get pretty comfortable. If the unconscious mind is using the pain as a distraction / repression why would it only be painful when I stand? I'm noticing that I'd have an easier time believing it's TMS if the pain was constant (NOT that I'm trying to tempt the universe by invoking constant pain!). Anyone else have standing-only sciatica that's been helped by approaching this from a TMS perspective?

Thanks!!

2. nancy

nancy Well known member

Hi Kylefreestyle, I too only have pain upon standing and walking, none when
    I sit or go to bed. This is 8 yrs old. I have been through every test from MRI's,
    to lumbar spinal taps, bone scans, pt, acupuncture, dry needling, all kinds
    of xrays of the pelvis, sacrum, steroidal injections, (16) total. No one finds any
    reason for surgery!! AHA MOMENT!! All the stress I had in my life. I had not
    had one peaceful moment upon standing or walking for 8 yrs. I returned home