1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

saving someone from back surgery

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Barry, Jun 24, 2013.

1. Barry

Barry New Member

A close friend a nurse by profession, has been sold the bill of goods claiming all the disc pathology that requires surgery. She is a vigorous woman who has many athletic hobbies etc. The back Doc has already suggested she find an easier job and don't expect to ride your motorcycle again and all the other stuff you do must be curtailed. Extreme right!? I try to encourage her to pursue orher ideas TMS being numero uno. Even though she never heard of TMS and explaining this to a nurse is harder than to a lay person.

This angers her as she has all kinds of proof she needs to stop her lifestyle. Look at these MRI's and failing at PT. She always told me to get shots in my back. I never have and said they are temporary. Looks like I was right.

I'm wondering if there is a diplomatic way of reaching out to her. I'm a tms type and have made great strides and I am noticeably affected, she looks 100% fine is just in pain but moves well. Really gets upset about this other approach, would love to convince her of the 'great pain deception' she's buying into hook line and sinker. So far she has tried everything. Maybe she has other psychology that has her ok with all of this as she excepts it without a fight. Secondary gain perhaps? Forgot to mention she has all the markers of the tms personality.

Either way tonight I'm loaning her Ozanich's book hope she reads it.