1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 3 Resuming physical activity

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Seraphina, Sep 10, 2014.

1. Seraphina

Seraphina Peer Supporter

As I'm successfully dealing with my ankle TMS, I'm now walking well without much issue.

However, as the symptom has mostly moved to my butt, hip, and thigh (pain mostly appears when sitting), I now have a fear of sitting. I'm an investment analyst, and I have to sit at least 9 hours a day; there's no way I can avoid sitting 100%. So.. I have to endure the pain when it comes while sitting anyway. But.. because I don't like to feel pain (the painful feeling of sitting bone squeezed onto the chair), I get up and walk around at work as often as possible. I think I still have 1~5% doubt it occurred by physical issue (e.g., I sat too long too much due to ankle injury and the butt bursitis is irritated, weak muscle due to lack of exercise, etc.) and this feeds TMS around my body.

Because of my hip joint pain, I don't do stretches that I usually did in the morning (butterfly position of yoga). This is because I'm afraid if this harms my hip joint... I'm afraid if there has been a little physical issue with my hip joint which was not discovered yet and I hurt it by doing something that I shouldn't do to a weak part. Before, I felt fresher and limber after the stretch. Now I'm only scared to do it with passion.

I know I need to be free from fear to get rid of the symptoms.. but I think I feel quite a stress, too, when I force myself to resume all activities that makes pain. I'm afraid of the pain. I don't want to have more pain... I just want the pain to dissipate away... not grow at any moment. To cut the vicious cycle, I need to cut the fear, but when I think of the expected pain, I'm severely stressed....

Last edited: Sep 10, 2014