1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Restless Leg Syndrome

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by marcy, Jan 9, 2014.

1. marcy

marcy New Member

Has anyone here experienced restless leg syndrome at night? I have found great success in elminating back pain with Dr. Sarno's books, but I recently developed Restless Leg Syndrome that makes sleeping difficult. I am thinking it too is from TMS, but wasn't sure.

2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

I haven't found anything in Dr. Sarno or Steve Ozanich specifically about restless leg syndrome but reading about it online says it's pretty common and no one is sure what causes it, and there is no cure, but some medications are said to help relieve the condition, but not cure it.

It looks to me, although I'm not a doctor or a psychotherapist, like another example of TMS.
    If you have had some recent experience out of the ordinary, it may have triggered something in your past that
    needs your attention by journaling.

I know that's pretty vague but do believe it's worth considering.

Try not to worry about it. Don't think it will come on every night in bed.
    Tell yourself it's NOT going to come on. Do some deep breathing and any other relaxatio
    techniques when in bed. Don't program your mind that it will be present whenever
    you go to bed.

Dr. Sarno says people tend to associate sitting or standing or walking with their TMS pain,
    which only programs our minds to expect that.

Good luck and maybe someone else will offer a suggestion.

3. Stella

Stella Well known member

Yes, restless leg is TMS. It is one of my many many many symptoms over the years. Keep journaling You can work it out. It falls under the category of "unexplainable." Any time I see that I am very very suspicious.

marcy likes this.
  4. Steve Ozanich