1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Melany C. Responding to the Pain

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by tomlincs, Oct 18, 2017.

1. tomlincs

tomlincs Newcomer

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    Hi

I am very new to the TMS world and have come across it after I had wondered if anxiety could actually cause pain in my leg.

I had a bulging/prolapsed disc about 2 years ago and suffered with real bad lower back pain which went after a few weeks but was left with sciatica in my left leg. I went to see a physio and at the same time my anxiety was coming back strong for the first time in years. After a few months of processing my anxiety I had noticed my leg pain had gone.

I have carried on my life as normal for 2 years pain free. I have really been enjoying the gym and decided to sign up to a 12 week program with a personal trainer. Literally days before my first session, my back was hurting really bad and my leg came back as bad as ever. I didn't dare do the first session and went to see my physio etc, then I decided against advice and thought I would just do my 12 week program, I am only a couple of weeks in to it and my back feels great but my leg still flares up and most noticeably it is just before I go to the gym, as if I its telling me not to go!