1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Religion and Conflict.

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by kindle123, Aug 29, 2018.

1. kindle123

kindle123 Peer Supporter

I have been fairy new to the TMS journey (2 months) and my symptoms are improving. After reading 2 books on TMS which were highly recommended, I have come to a conclusion that I have an extreme goodist personality. I am 33 year old female and since is was 6 years old I studied in a Catholic school till I was 18years ( I still consider myself a devot Catholic).
    But what I am realizing at this point in life half of the things that I have been doing in life were because that’s what the nun’s told me to do, if I would follow those anything apart from that would be a sin(I know that’s not how it works but it is so so so hard for me to let go that conditioning that I grew up with).
    I don’t smoke, don’t drink don’t really do anything that would displease God, when I was in the convent (mind you it was an all girls convent, so during my teenage years of any of my friends had a boyfriend I would stop talking to them cause I felt it was so wrong to be associated with something like that).
    My question is there are so many things out there that I would love to do but I find them utterly wrong because that’s what the religion say, so should I just give up practicing religion and do what my heart and body desire? Is there a middle ground somewhere?

2. Dan Newberry

Dan Newberry Newcomer

Read carefully 1 Corinthains chaper 6. You're not under God's law, you've been liberated from it. This doesn't mean that you do *anything* you'd like, as some things are not good for you. You ought not deny yourself life's pleasures (read Ecclesiastes, it will give you much hope).