1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Releasing Rage...

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Jaxson, Aug 23, 2014.

1. Jaxson

Jaxson New Member

Question and Greetings to All..

I'm new to the concepts of psychotherapy and I'm not sure I would ever be plumbing the depths of my mind for unconscious, repressed emotions through journaling were it not for this thing called TMS. My question is: What of therapies that promote the actual expression of rage and anger; hitting a pillow with a tennis racket, screaming, discharging emotions this way. This would seem to be putting the focus on the emotions. Has anyone experienced this kind of therapy? Is it beneficial? Any thoughts appreciated.

Jaxson

Eric "Herbie" Watson likes this.
  2. Tennis Tom

Tennis Tom Beloved Grand Eagle

I believe Reichian therapy is what you're referring to. It's always sounded interesting and like a lot of fun to release tension, pounding a mattress with a baseball bat and screaming in a soundproof room, but don't know how it interdigitates with TMS though. Would love to try it, maybe my GF will give me a gift certificate for some for Christmas. I do hit about a thousand tennis balls a day to release tension, or create it, depending how my opponents call the lines.

Last edited: Aug 23, 2014
    Eric "Herbie" Watson likes this.
  3. Eric "Herbie" Watson

Eric "Herbie" Watson Beloved Grand Eagle