1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Recent RSI and Carpal Tunnel diagnosis, yet things don't add up

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by BigBlueWolf, Feb 16, 2018.

1. BigBlueWolf

BigBlueWolf Peer Supporter

My Story:

I'm a 50 year-old male. I've been a software developer for 17 years and an avid computer hobbyist since my early 20s. Video games are also a hobby of mine and I've been playing regularly since 2005. (I would love to make computer games, but alas I ended up with a lot of job security doing a very different kind of back-end data processing work.)

My problem started in early summer last year (2017) when I began to develop overuse pain in my hands from an insane project schedule plus gaming on top of it. At first the pain was pretty normal for doing "too much" and most importantly it didn't happen when I was working (the intensity of work is a lot less than gaming). Still, I tried to back off of gaming and give myself more opportunity to recover. With some assistance from PT I seemed to be doing really well from late September through October. But I returned to full gaming activity perhaps a bit too quickly, and it was at that point that more unusual pain patterns started emerging.

This is when I began to get scared and started trying to cut back severely. In particular I was playing a game with a controller that only required my left hand to operate a thumb-stick mostly pressing to the right and my right (dominate) hand to occasionally press a single button. Compared to many games out there this type would fall into the top 5% of games in terms of ease of play -- virtually anyone of any age could manage it. But for me, my hands hurt like crazy for a whole day after finishing it.