1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 Ready to take my life back

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by scootertoe, Jun 5, 2014.

1. scootertoe

scootertoe New Member

I really can't remember a time when I didn't have pain. Sometimes it was low back pain, sometimes it was hip pain, other times it was abdominal pain and most recently, for over a year and a half, it is stabbing neck and left shoulder / scapula pain along with low back pain thrown in for good measure. No rhyme or reason as to when it would occur - it just hit me like a train when it hit. Like most people I have read about in Dr. Sarno's book and on the videos I've watched on this site, I have tried just about everything out there with the exception of surgery. Being a nurse myself (who ironically worked at Rusk Institute in the early 1980's) and having a husband of almost 34 years who is a chiropractor, ( as well as a son and future daughter-in-law who are chiropractors), surgery was not something I would ever considered. But nothing else was off limits and as you can probably guess because I am posting on this forum, nothing has worked for any prolonged period of time. I have missed countless days from work, have stopped enjoying the fun things in life like a night out in the city with friends and have more recently found myself becoming more and more depressed and distraught over my constant pain. My husband the chiropractor had been begging me to read Dr. Sarno's book and after trying to convince him that it wouldn't help me, I finally gave in. Page after page I saw myself flash before my eyes. Not just the back and neck pain but the ulcers I was diagnosed with last November and the chronic fatigue syndrome I was treated for in my 30's and the frequent urinary tract issues I experience, the mitral valve prolapse I have been diagnosed with and probably t