1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 Re-starting

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by cokeefe88, Feb 8, 2016.

1. cokeefe88

cokeefe88 Newcomer

I was diagnosed with a herniated disc in October 2010, after a bout of excruciating back pain. I was a sophomore in college at the time. I'd been suffering from more or less chronic back pain since I was about 10, but never that bad before. I tried a number of things. The pain naturally declined somewhat over time, and it became fairly manageable. Standing and sitting for long periods of time—like long drives or flights, or a day at the mall or at a concert—are quite painful still. So I don't do that kind of thing much. I read Healing Back Pain about 18 months ago, and while I believed it intellectually from the first moment I read it, it still hasn't really helped my pain. I tried this tmswiki program about a year ago, and I had trouble sticking with it. But now, my wife and I are planning a trip overseas, that will involve lots of long flights, long car drives, and standing & walking around cities and in museums, etc. As I've been thinking about that, I've started to feel a lot of fear around back pain, because I know that in my current condition, that would be quite painful. So I'm starting over with this program, I'm about to start reading The Divided Mind, and I am firmly resolved to stick with this program each day for the next six weeks.

2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle