1. Our TMS drop-in chat is today (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM DST Eastern U.S.(New York). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support. JanAtheCPA is today's host. Click here for more info or just look for the red flag on the menu bar at 3pm Eastern.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Question to ponder on Day 3

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by shmps, Jan 24, 2015.

1. shmps

shmps Peer Supporter

Question:
    When was the last time you exercised or did another physical activity? What was this activity? How did it make you feel physically and emotionally? If it is has been a while since you last exercised, why?

Last I worked out was in Oct 2014. I have been a regular gym goer. I have been working out for last 7-8 years 4-5 days a week. I love doing weight training. Ever since my pains started in Macrh 2014, everyone Dr. PT relatives friends family, said don't workout. Workout is the reason for pain. I didn't heed. I continued but started slowing down the frequency and weights. All my life i felt so good after working out physically and emotionally. Workout pulled me out of my divorce and any other trauma i faced in life. Workout was my life away from my real life. I loved working out. In Sep 2014 my pain symptoms reduced so i started increasing my workout frequency and weights. The symptoms returned with vengeance a month later and this time i got scared. I blamed that one day in Sept going to gym and doing barbell chest press...oh my neck has been stiff baldy just because of that day's workout and ever since then i stopped. I feared increasing the pain or damaging myself physically any more. I felt guilty that I should have listened to PT and not worked out. So since September 2014 i gave up what I loved the most, what made me feel happy, confident, truly powerful, away from