1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Progress and Insights

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Msunn, Nov 11, 2013.

1. Msunn

Msunn Well known member

Things are going better for me which is really exciting. I'm a professional guitarist with RSI symptoms.

I was able to play at about 90% of my playing abilities this past weekend which is really great. I have a challenging situation in that when I work I play a 4 1/2 hr gig, two nights in a row, so I'm not really able to set small goals, I'm hired to play the full gig, which can bring up fear, over thinking, crazy inner dialogue etc.

One powerful insight for me is a quote from Dr. Sarno, "In the long run, fear and preoccupation with physical restrictions are more effective as a psychological defense than pain."

I've had problems in the past with anxiety, and when I had to take off work earlier this year I was very fearful, with panic attacks, obsessive thinking, many crazy thoughts going through this mind!

As I started trying to apply TMS diagnosis and treatment to my situation I didn't include the fear as a huge component of my symptoms, I was looking only for repressed emotions etc. which I have my share of by the way :)

Lately I've been working on accepting all the emotions and feelings that come and go, with compassion for myself. The goal for me is not to be symptom free, which of course I would love, but rather to stay positive and realize that this is all psychological, not physical.