1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Positivity issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by jula, May 26, 2020.

1. jula

jula Peer Supporter

Hello! I have question - is there anyone having trouble with positivity? I know I am a negative person, I don’t like it and would like to change that. No matter what happens in my life instead of being happy I disregard all the positivity and always look on the dark side. For example when I was a student I was very good, one of the best ones in the English course. I got A after A and I would never be happy or congratulate myself on it, I would think it was sort of a given. But when I got a B, then I would be angry/ashamed with myself.

It’s just one example but there were many similar ones in my life. It’s as if almost nothing brings me pleasure. I always imagine how great something should be and when real life happens and it’s not as good as I imagined - I am disappointed. My mindset is a big roadblock. Another example - we are going cycling, I imagine how great it will make me feel, how relaxed I will be, when in reality I either cannot stop obsessing about something which makes me not present during the ride and therefore not relaxed or I focus on the fact that there is too much sand on the road and I become tired earlier than I thought, etc. Or I go to a party with high expectations but either I don’t like the food or I am bored and bam - bad mood and disappointment. Everything in my life is like this!

Nothing is ever good enough. Any tips how to work on it? I feel it’s a huge component of my TMS.

2. BloodMoon