1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Daniel L. Perineum burning

Discussion in 'Ask a TMS Therapist' started by Abbo, May 12, 2016.

1. Abbo

Abbo Well known member

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    I have perineum burning also myofascial pain. I have been doing the program for 5 months now after 2 years of pain. I can ignore my glutes and thighs where the myofascial pain is but I cannot ignore the perineum burning. I have found that by applying a small ice pack to the area it cools me down and allows me to continue walking my two and half miles in the morning and one and half miles in the afternoon. What I am asking is am I reinforcing my pain? Am I using the ice as a placebo? I don't think I can get through the day without using it just the once.
    Your opinion and advice would be so appreciated.
    Thank you

2. Daniel G Lyman LCSW

Daniel G Lyman LCSW TMS Therapist

Answer
    First a story:

One summer in college I traveled to Guatemala for a few months with the hope of learning Spanish. I spoke very, very little of it when I first got there, so I was relieved that my host-family had a daughter who spoke fluent English! I knew that I’d be fine as long as she was around.

On the second day of living my host family, the daughter told me that she was no longer going to speak to me in English, for it would slow down the rate in which I would learn Spanish. Frustrated, I agreed.