1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

PART 3, DR. SARNO'S PAIN RELIEF TECHNIQUES

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021), Oct 20, 2013.

1. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

Part 3 – Dr. SARNO’S TRADITIONAL PAIN TREATMENTS

Concluding this posting summarizing and commenting on Dr. Sarno’s chapter 5 from his book Healing Back Pain.

Once again, I am not a doctor nor do I intend to give medical advice or take a position either for or against a doctor’s diagnosis that a patient’s pain may require medication, manipulation, or other treatment for a back or other condition that may be structurally damaged from injury, disease, a fall, improper lifting, or other cause. I merely think you would like to know, or refresh your knowledge after reading his book, that he believes most if not all of our pain is not caused by structural damage but by a process he calls TMS which deprives oxygen to parts of our body. That is caused, Dr. Sarno, says, by one or more repressed emotions that may and very likely do go back to our childhood producing anger, even rage, or anxiety, guilt, feelings of having been abandoned or abused.

In this posting from chapter 5 Dr. Sarno begins by writing about treatments to strengthen muscles. He says that for years that has been the tradition method doctors recommend for treating back pain.

“That idea is deeply ingrained in the American mind, and it is dead wrong,” he writes.