1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Pain meds okay for TMS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by tigerlilly, Feb 17, 2014.

1. tigerlilly

tigerlilly Well known member

I'm a newbie (2 weeks+) with the TMS thing (read Sarno Healing Back Pain and currently on Divided Mind). Convincing myself I have TMS and not a herniated disc at L5/S1 hitting on the nerve was hard to accept, but I have embraced it and have gotten a degree of results, maybe 20-30%. So why, if I am leaving no emotional stone unturned, can't I get further improvement with tapping into my emotions? What am I missing? And why does it only hurt, always in the same places (it doesn't move around like other persons have attested to), when I do certain movements but am better laying in bed? And why does Advil help the pain? Is it even okay to take meds to help with the pain of TMS? I'm not a drug person, but the Advil does help take the edge off at times.

2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

I've taken Advil over the years, once in a while when something ached, before I knew about TMS.
    Advil always worked, making the pain go away. I've read that it's safer than Tylenol and I haven't used Aspirin
    for years.

Dr. Sarno says it's okay to take medication if in bad pain, but continue to believe it's from TMS and
    work on discovering those repressed emotions.

And try not to think of the pain or that it exists at all. Live and enjoy each hour of each day.