1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Pain In The Moneymaker

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by donavanf, Dec 11, 2016.

1. donavanf

donavanf Well known member

I wondered if anyone had any pointers on how to "de-condition" myself to my computer chair? I'm a photographer, my TMS manifests as horrible upper back pain and muscular spasm right between my shoulder blades that extends into my right shoulder, right arm socket and sometimes my neck. I'm about 80% recovered, and have been for a YEAR. Confirmed TMS, from a TMS doc, but my BIGGEST trigger (alongside of shooting with my camera for hours) is sitting in my chair and doing PhotoShop, which much like picking up my camera, I used to love (and now hate) as a result of being in PAIN as I do it...and for hours after, even if I just work for a few minutes. It's SLIGHTLY better than it used to be, but it HURTS and fuels me feeling very angry and depressed. I earn my income with my camera, and by sitting in this chair and it feels as if TMS "knows" where it can scare me. Right in my shoulders and neck, which are the VERY places I earn my living. TMS hits me in the very places I need to live! As for the chair, it cannot be the chair. Here's my proof. My computer chair is just like driving, and it doesn't hurt to drive, but it USED to! For a long time, I could not drive anywhere without pain, then I got a new car and the pain vanished overnight. No more pain from driving. I thought maybe it was because I got better seats (brand new Honda civic vs old VW Passat) but then I realized, I actually LOVE driving now, because I love my new car! How do I fall in love again with the things that hurt, namely, photographing and editing photos? I've tried saying "yes" to the pain, ignoring it, journaling, you name it. But it remains. It remains. And it sucks.

2. Ellen

Ellen Beloved Grand Eagle