1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 7 Not journaling, but sharing some thoughts

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Guseman, Feb 18, 2015.

1. Guseman

Guseman Peer Supporter

I know day 7 is a day off. And I plan to take it, but the video about working too hard on TMS really brought up a few thoughts that I wanted to share. So no deep journaling today :)

This idea of "working hard" is something I think I have a lot of trouble with. As with many of you, I'm sure, I almost always feel like I'm not working hard enough. At work, at home, on myself, on my relationships, etc. And so often its really not true. I got my PhD in biology before I turned 30 for goodness sakes, I definitely have worked hard enough there. Now at my new job, people are a bit more lax and things move a little slower than in grad school. I think this is really good for me, but it also sometimes makes me worry that I'm not working hard enough, compared to the rest of the science world.
    And sometimes I'm not actually working hard enough. In my marriage, we've run into a couple rough patches where I was spending all of my energy working on work, and very little on my home life, and we had some imbalances that built up after a while.
    So I guess my perception has been very warped in the context of working hard enough. And its really been hard to tell where that line is in different parts of my life. Even after watching the video today, I thought "well, I missed a few days of journaling, so maybe I should take this day off to catch up" - which totally defeats the purpose :)