1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie w/TN and ON Neuralgias -- need help please

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by daisydoodle11, May 11, 2019.

Tags:
  1. daisydoodle11

daisydoodle11 Newcomer

It’s my 46th Birthday today. And I’ve been spending it mostly in bed. This saddens me to no end.

I have been dealing with Atypical Trigeminal Neuralgia and Occipital Neuralgia for a year now. This comes with extreme chronic pain ranging anywhere from an 8 to 9 on bad days to a 6 with medication. (I take Gabapentin and Lyrica.) Recently, the nerve pain seems to be going into my feet and legs.

Pre all of this happening I was a yoga teacher for ten years. (Now, it’s a wonder if I can walk 20 minutes. Now I’m having problems with balance and I’m experiencing vertigo, which I have heard is common with occipital neuralgia.)

I have been through three neurologists. I have had the MRI to rule out a brain tumor. They have also ruled out MS. I juice every day and I’m great with supplements.

The trigeminal neuralgia came on about a week after a crown was placed over a root canal. Then the pain spread to the jaw and areas around the ear…and then it spread to the other side…so now I have it bilaterally. (About a month later the occipital neuralgia came on right after doing a headstand. I know, pretty stupid of me.) I’ve since had an X-ray of the spine and they say everything is fine.

So now that I’ve given a little background, let me get to why I’m here.

I guess I want to really believe this is TMS-related, because I want to believe that I can heal this without surgical intervention — or going a lifetime with pain pills.

(But then the pain hits, and I just think, the pain is really ingrained and it feels so structurally awful — like jabs and stings along my occipital nerves. Not to mention the pressure in my teeth.)