1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Newbie here need some advice on chronic sciatica from supposed bulging discs

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by beatingchronicsciatica, Mar 15, 2020.

1. Hi everyone,

I recently discovered Dr Sarno and TMS this year and have been somewhat using his ideas trying to solve my chronic sciatica from a supposed herniated disc back in July 2018.

I first supposedly injured my lower back back in early 2013 deadlifting in the gym and an MRI showed a small bulging L5-S1 disc slightly impinging on the right sciatic S1 nerve and the doctor said that was the cause of my sciatica down my right leg (even though I kinda often felt nerve sciatic symptoms down my left leg also but it was less prominent than my right). I did several months of PT and stopped going to the gym and it did not go away and after about half a year I got an epidural. At that same time I also discovered another social hobby that I loved doing so I managed to keep myself occupied and somewhat stopped thinking about my sciatica and it supposedly went away at the end of 2013 and that was when I returned to the gym. Up to this day I still have no idea whether it was the epidural that got rid of the sciatica back then or whether it was simply I was able to forget about the symptoms and occupy myself with the new social hobby that I enjoyed.