1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

New here...Scared it won't work

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by WantToBelieve, Nov 23, 2014.

1. WantToBelieve

WantToBelieve Peer Supporter

Hello everyone! I'm a late-30's mom of a 2 year old with a history of 13 years of bilateral foot pain. When people say they've tried it all, I've tried it ALL! I mean, everything! Even 3 surgeries on what was thought to be nerve entrapment. I've seen probably 20 doctors in all, maybe more. I've been pursuing a fix/cure everyday for 13 years! This pain has turned my life upside down. I used to own my own Personal Training business. I was a national fitness competitor, rock climber, avid world-traveler, skiier, etc, etc and now I can barely stand up long enough to take a shower. I never had an injury and both of feet just started to hurt in the heels. Of all my MRI's, ultrasounds, xrays, nerve tests, blood work, etc, NOTHING has ever come back with any indication as to what is causing this pain.
    I've tried it all and now I'm trying this. I want with all my heart and soul for this to be the answer to my pain. I want to be a success story so badly. But so far, it's been about a month with no change for the better or worse. I'm lucky enough to live in Chicago with a Dr who has trained under Dr Sarno and who is leading a TMS course. I'm reading Dr Schubiner's book in the class, have read Dr Sarno's book, am meditating, journaling, doing the self-talk and nothing is happening. I'm scared this will become another thing that I have tried that does not work for me.