1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 19 New findings but old pain

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by justgreene, May 13, 2019.

1. justgreene

justgreene Newcomer

So, yesterday I had a small breakthrough. I found a trigger for the onset of pain. During the weekend, my pain tends to fade away and return on Monday. So, Sunday night as I was making my lunch for work the next day, I noticed my pain was returning. Ha! Making lunch for work is a trigger. Work is a huge stressor. I am a teacher and everyday is a big stress. We are winding down the year and classroom behavior is an issue at this time of year. Plus, as a teacher I want everything to go perfectly and I judge myself pretty hard. I think all of this contributes to me pain throughout the week. On the weekend I have been relaxing with family and trying to take it easy - no pain.

Problem is...Monday evening came and the pain hit me hard. I can barely stand. I feel pain in 3 spots causing major sciatica issues. Now, I did workout and that might have caused the flare ups. I am trying to get motivated to get back in the gym more often. But man, the pain is roaring!

2. Andy Bayliss

Andy Bayliss TMS Coach & Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi justgreene,

Congratulations on identifying this trigger, even watching it manifest while making food for your job.

As a former school teacher/perfectionist my heart goes out to you. It is of course insanity to try to create a perfect outcome with so many variables running amok in the classroom! But the personality is obsessive in its pressurizing!