1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Negativity bias

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by AC45, Jul 19, 2017.

1. AC45

AC45 Well known member

Hi TMS Community,

We've all heard of the negativity bias - you become what you focus on. I've been journaling for 15 months and rereading the entries regularly (per Sarno's suggestions). I've gotten much better physically - while I still struggle with anxiety and insomnia.

I'm having a hard time letting go of these entries over the last 15 months - even though I know in my heart of hearts that I should go forward with the insights but stop the rumination. I think it is better after that much time to move on and focus on the present and the future.

It is hard. It is almost like I need to close my eyes and shred it all. I don't really want my family finding it later yet I am afraid I'll forget the insights or a I might need a list in case I do trauma therapy later. I almost wonder if hanging onto all of this stuff is keeping me stuck.

Thanks for listening,
    AC45

2. AC45

AC45 Well known member

Hi TMS Community,

Ok, maybe I just needed to read how I really felt. I shredded 15 months of journaling.

It was really hard but when you keep going over the same stuff over and over you can get stuck in it.

Thanks for listening,
    AC45

plum and Ines like this.
  3. Ines

Ines Well known member

Good for you!

AC45 likes this.
  4. AC45

AC45 Well known member

Thank you @Ines . I feel really good about it and really sad about it! All of those insights I uncovered about myself are now shredded. However, they were all intertwined with my past difficulties and at some point I felt like I had to move on to get back to the present. It is still hard though. I carried around my TMS books and journals like they were blankies. At some point you have to rip off the blankie but it is hard.