1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Musicians with "Focal Dystonia"

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Dnewell77, Oct 18, 2018.

1. Dnewell77

Dnewell77 New Member

Hello,

I am new to the forum but I am a guitarist and have been treating my "musicians dystonia" as MBS and have seen very positive results. I have searched the forum and noticed some other people have dystonia and have had success recovering from it. Just wanted to see if anyone has any stories or advice on how they overcame or are overcoming their symptoms. As a professional session musician it can get tough to manage the symptoms and remain outcome independent. I have found body mapping (taught to me by the brilliant Jerald Harscher) and working with Kenny Werner's effortless mastery book have helped me a bit as well. What is working for you guys?

Thanks for reading,
    Daniel

2. EricFeelsThisWay

EricFeelsThisWay Peer Supporter

Can you explain more of what focal dystonia is? I’m a musician too and I’m curious. Hesitant to ask as these kinds of conditions have a contagious nature :-/ But here we go.

3. EileenS

EileenS Well known member

I found many links explaining what it is including this one. https://dystoniacanada.org/about-dystonia/musicians-dystonias/focal-hand (Focal Hand Dystonia in Musicians | Dystonia Medical Research Foundation Canada)