1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Meditation - is there a wrong way of meditating?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by TG957, Apr 2, 2016.

1. TG957

TG957 Beloved Grand Eagle

I have been practicing yoga for 16 years and qi gong for 4 years, so I am not a stranger to the concept of meditation. Yet, a standard sitting meditation, guided or not, does not seem to do anything for me. Sometimes I fall asleep but that's about it.

The only time when I feel that my brain clears of stress and anxiety is when I go hiking or swimming or just have a yoga or qi gong practice. Somehow, the rhythm and monotony of repetitive movements relaxes me. But is it enough?

But I never had epiphanies or physical effects like nausea or uncontrolled body movements or hearing sounds etc. that are considered outcomes of good meditation after my hikes or yoga practices, let alone formal meditations.

Am I missing something? Advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. Andy Bayliss

Andy Bayliss TMS Coach & Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi TG957,

While I have done plenty of meditating, I am not an instructor per se. I would count myself lucky that you have not experienced any of the above experiences. This quote makes me think you're trying to "get somewhere," which is natural, since we're always trying to fix, improve, or have better (more interesting?) experiences.