1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Kind of new symptom - what would you do?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by happygal, Nov 21, 2014.

1. happygal

happygal New Member

Hi all,
    Some of you know I have been hanging around this forum for the last several years - I usually disappear when my symptoms get better and return when something new starts to plague me. Well, anyway, here I am again.

Several days ago I started having very localized chest pain in the bottom of my chest. Intellectually, I am quite certain it is TMS; but emotionally, I worry that it is my heart. The pain ramped up a lot the same day my daughter threw up in the car and my 5-year old son scratched his cornea playing with a stick and the pain miraculously dissipated when I had a distracting conversation with a stranger. It has been coming and going since then. I went for a run with the pain, and it increased only moderately - never spreading outside it's tiny spot, but I think I spent the whole time focusing on the spot and evaluating if it was getting better or worse (and it always gets worse when I do that). I figured that if it was really my heart, a run would have caused me to keel over. I checked my blood pressure yesterday and it was 110/70 - not exactly heart attack material. I have had no shortness of breath or any other worrying symptoms, just a localized ache in the bottom of my chest coming and going for days.