1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Its all still new to me..

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by JDinPhilly, Feb 27, 2018.

1. JDinPhilly

JDinPhilly New Member

Today I had some back pain. I tried the usual stuff (tylenol + alieve), stretching, hanging upside down from a hoyer lift (I work in healthcare). Nothing worked as usual.

Later in the day I was talking to a co-worker and she asked how my "back thing" was going. I shared that anger and stress lead to pain pretty quickly and I am very stressed today. We talked (briefly) about my stressors and then the pain vanished. I verbalized my stressors, made a plan to accomplish a task and then I spent the rest of the day without pain.

Of course, I came home and had a huge fight with my spouse, so who knows whats going to happen tomorrow (yikes). Rome wasn't built in a day right?

2. iwire

iwire Peer Supporter

I am trying to picture "hanging upside down from a hoyer lift" :p!!! I was using such a lift today as well but can't quite imagine what you were doing! I wonder if you will feel better tomorrow now that you have already acknowledged the stress and the fight-- instead of surpressing those feelings?? I hope so!

3. JDinPhilly

JDinPhilly New Member

iWire.. here is how I do it (this is not a product endorsement, in fact, its dangerous..dont do this)

1) find a clean hospital bed
    2) lay on the bed and put the coat hanger looking thing under both of your knees
    3) push the up button..

reverse after a few seconds..

ps: I certainly hope so too. Thanks once again for your kind words.

4. iwire

iwire Peer Supporter

I am going to go to sleep laughing about this!!!!! Thank you for that! laughter is so great for healing! (and good thing you strongly advised NOT doing it!) (oh-- and consider--- is it possible that your "lift antics" might be contributing to back pain? Hee Hee)